June 29, 2015 - Same Sex Marriage Information
Marriage License Application hours:
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:00p.m.
Marriage license fees:
Without Premarital Course Certificate- $82.00
With Premarital Course Certificate- $22.00
Informal Marriage (Common Law)- $47.00
** Payment by mail must be cashier check or money order.
In the State of Texas, to apply for a marriage license, per Texas Family Code Section 2.002 each person applying for license must appear before the county clerk; submit proof of identity and age as provided by Section 2.005(b) (typically a current Driver’s license and social security card); if a Foreign Birth certificate is used, it must be a certified copy and have a certified translation to English attached; provide the information applicable to that person in the application; take the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk.
72 hour waiting period
Per Texas Family Code 2.204 a marriage ceremony may not take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license. This waiting period does not apply to a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty; Department of Defense; obtains a written waiver from a Judge with family law jurisdiction; completes a premarital education course approved by the State as described in Section 2.013
72 Hour Waiting Form
Parental Consent for Underage applicant
Parental consent is required for any applicant that is 16 years of age or older, but under 18 years of age per Section 2.102 Texas Family Code.
- Parents giving consent must be present with minor(s) when the marriage license is purchased.
- Parents must show government-issued picture identification.
- Minor(s) must show certified copy of birth certificate with current school ID, driver's license or state ID.
- If parents of minor are currently married, one parent is required to be present to sign the parental consent form.
- If parents of minor are divorced, a certified copy of the divorce decree must be presented by the parent that has Managing Conservatorship (custody) of the minor. Joint Managing Conservatorship requires both parents be present unless stated otherwise in the divorce decree.
- If the person giving consent is unable to appear due to illness or incapacity, the notarized consent affidavit must be accompanied by a physician’s affidavit stating that the person giving consent is unable to comply because of illness or incapacity
Court Order for Underage applicant
For an underage applicant that is less than 16 years of age, you must have a Court Order Granting Permission to Marry in order to apply for a marriage license as per Texas Family Code Section 2.103.
Texas Family Code Section 2.007(c) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), the clerk may not issue a marriage license for which both applicants are absent unless the person applying on behalf of each absent applicant provides to the clerk an affidavit of the applicant declaring that the applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation.
Absent Applicant Form
State approved premarital education course:
72 hour waiting period is waived and the cost of the license is reduced. For more information, please visit: www.twogetherintexas.com
Copy of Marriage License
Only certified copies of marriage records will be released. This office only has on record the licenses that were purchased in this county and returned for recording, regardless of where the ceremony took place. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $21.00 each.
Application for Certified Copy
Correction to Marriage License
Texas Family Code Section 2.209(c) provides for corrections to a recorded marriage license provided that both parties to the marriage execute a notarized affidavit stating the error.
Correction Affidavit Form